Scientific Commissions

The increasing specialisation of disciplines, of organisations and of scientific events requires a particular effort for their integration and communication, UISPP taking such responsibility. It secures the promotion of pluri-disciplinary and inter-institutional collaborations through the regional and thematic scientific commissions and affiliated organisations, sharing similar objectives, as well as with other scientific institutions.

See below for a list of current scientific commissions.

Name President / Contact UISPP domain
Archaeological Prospection Stefano Campana
campana@unisi.it
Historiography, methods and theory
History of Archaeology Marc-Antoine Kaeser
marc-antoine.kaeser@ne.ch
Historiography, methods and theory
Theory and Methods of Archaeology. Formalisation... François Djindjian
francois.djindjian@wanadoo.fr
Historiography, methods and theory
Theory and Methods in Landscape archeology – Archeogeography Sandrine Robert
sandrine.robert@ehess.fr
Historiography, methods and theory
Flint Minings in Pre and Protohistoric Europe Françoise Bostyn
francoise.bostyn@inrap.fr
Technology and Economy
Functional Studies of prehistoric artifacts and their
socio-economical meaning (on past societies studies)
Natalia Skakun
skakunnatalia@yandex.ru
Technology and Economy
Southeast Asia: Human Evolution, Dispersals and Adaptations Victor Paz
victorpaz67@gmail.com
Culture, economy and environments
First Stages of Human Evolution in Africa Robert Sala
robert.sala@urv.cat
Culture, economy and environments
Settlement Dynamics of the Middle Paleolithic and Middle Stone Age Nicholas J Conard
nicholas.conard@uni-tuebingen.de
Technology and Economy
Middle Palaeolithic Bifacial Tools, Backed Bifaces and Leaf Points In Western Eurasia Árpád Ringer
bolringa@uni-miskolc.hu
Culture, economy and environments
Upper Palaeolithic of Eurasia Marcel Otte
Marcel.Otte@ulg.ac.be
Culture, economy and environments
The Final Palaeolithic of Northern Eurasia Berit V. Eriksen
Berit.Eriksen@schloss-gottorf.de
Culture, economy and environments
American Peopling Éric Boëda
boeda.eric@gmail.com
Culture, economy and environments
Holocene Hunter-Gatherers In Southern Europe and the Mediterranean/Pontian Basin Pablo Arias
pablo.arias@unican.es
Culture, economy and environments
Neolithic Civilizations of the Mediterranean and Europe Marie Besse
Marie.Besse@unige.ch
Culture, economy and environments
Mortuary Practices in Prehistory and Protohistory Valeriu Sirbu
valeriu_sirbu@yahoo.co.uk
Culture, economy and environments
Metal Ages in Europe Rebecca Peake
rebecca.peake@inrap.fr
Culture, economy and environments
Art and Civilizations in the Sahara During Prehistoric Times Barbara E.Barich
barich@rmcisadu.let.uniroma1.it
Archaeology in a Specific Environment
Mobility in mountain environment from Palaeolithic to Chalcolithic Stefano Grimaldi
stefano.grimaldi@unitn.it
Archaeology in a Specific environment
Prehistoric Art Roberto Ontañón-Peredo
ontanon_r@gobcantabria.es
Art and Culture
The Intellectual and Spiritual Expressions of Non-Literate Societies Emmanuel Anati
emmanuel.anati@gmail.com
Art and Culture
Bone Artefact Eva David
eva.david@cnrs.fr
Art and Culture
Archaeological heritage policies and management structures Erika Robrahn-Gonzalez
erika@documentocultural.net
Archaeology and Society
Coastal Prehistory and Submerged Landscapes Geoff Bailey
geoff.bailey@york.ac.uk
Culture, economy and environments
Archaeometry of Pre- and Protohistoric Inorganic Artifacts, Materials and Technologies Bela Török
bela.torok@uni-miskolc.hu
Technology and Economy
Acheulean Marie-Hélène Moncel
moncel@mnhn.fr
Culture, economy and environments
Biological Anthropology Dominique Grimaud-Hervé
dgherve@mnhn.fr
Historiography, methods and theory
Preventive Archaeology Sławomir Kadrow
slawekkadrow@gmail.com
Archaeology and Society
Chronologies and constraints of prehistoric sites in Eurasia Christophe Falguères
christophe.falgueres@mnhn.fr
Archaeology in a specific environment
African environments and societies, from the Neolithic to the present Moustapha Sall
moustaphsall@gmail.com
Archaeology in a specific environment
Praistorische Bronzefunde A. Jockenhoevel
jockenh@uni-muenster.de
Special Committtee | Archaeology in a specific environment